Daily Archives: June 3, 2012

The Evolution Of My Collection – Part 12

The Evolution Of My Collection – Part 12

Amazingly, it has been just a tad more than five months since my last ‘Evolution’ post.

And in that time, I have really come a long way as far as my collection goes…

From completing a few older player collections to nearly knocking out a few newer ones, my PC’s are the focus of my collection and I am very proud of the work that I have put in to pay homage to my favorite players from my youth.

My Andre Dawson, Ferguson Jenkins, and Jim Palmer collections continue to conquer new milestones and each of these ‘Super PC’s’ has gained some nice volume since my January 1 ‘Evolution’ post.

In addition to that, one of my new goals in 2012 was to start honoring the history of the Marlins franchise, both the Florida and Miami versions.  And that album that you see?  Well, that houses all of the team sets that I have collected so far of my favorite team.  This new part of my collection has quickly built a nice little history lesson of this young franchise – again, it is something that I am proud to be doing.

So, how does the full collection look today???

Here is a look:

Uber-organized, and very tidy, I really try to keep on top of my collection.  What you are seeing is my full collection, with the exception of a few small stacks of stuff on my desk that will be used for future contests and giveaways.

Oh, I should also let you know that I will be unveiling some new player collections in the coming weeks.  Some of the current ones I am working on are wrapping up soon so I will have an announcement soon about what players I will be going after next.

I hope you all had a nice weekend.  Thank you for reading!!

Jim Palmer 2011 Topps Marquee – Blue

Jim Palmer 2011 Topps Marquee – Blue

I recently scooped up a nice little handful of Jim Palmer baseball cards from www.checkoutmycards.com.

The haul was of cards issued from 2008-2012, and the lot was comprised of cards that were all under one dollar.  Ultimately, I am happy with the buy because if I wanted to pick these up on Ebay, I would have paid a lot more just in shipping expenses alone.

The first card that I wanted to show off to you is Palmer’s card from the 2011 Topps Marquee set.

Have a look:

This is the ‘Blue’ parallel version of Palmer’s base card from the set.  It is the same as the base version, with the lone difference being the Blue highlights around the nameplate.

The card is serial numbered as 223/299.

I am very impressed with the Marquee Brand.  It offers great images, high-quality cardstock, and a supremely shiny surface.

I don’t know if this set took off with collectors due to the high price tag and smallish size of the set.  But, for the player collector, I would definitely advocate picking up a few!!

Enjoy.

Pete Rose 1982 Topps N.L. All Star

Pete Rose 1982 Topps N.L. All Star

The 1982 major league baseball season marked Pete Rose’s 19th year in the league.

And at the age of 41, Rose was still a star!!  An All-Star that is….

In fact, in 1982, Rose played in 162 games – he didn’t miss a single game.

Some of his impressive numbers from that 1982 season include:  .271 batting average, 172 hits, 80 runs scored, 25 doubles, 50 RBI, and 8 stolen bases.  In 720 plate appearances, Rose struck out just 32 times while drawing 66 walks.

A true star!!!  

Send him to the Hall of Fame already.  Please.

George Foster 1982 Topps Tri-Fecta – Base, All-Star, ‘In Action’

George Foster 1982 Topps Tri-Fecta – Base, All-Star, ‘In Action’

I thought I would triple your fun this morning with this trio of baseball cards featuring George Foster.  All of the cards were a part of the 1982 Topps baseball card set.

By my count, this is the most single player cards that Foster appears on from a single issue.

You’ve got the ‘In Action’, All-Star, and base cards below.

Check them out:

Of the three, I have put them in the order in which I would rank them.  I’ll always take an action photo over a posed one.  And when it comes to portrait-styled images, I will take a zoomed-out version over a zoomed-in…

I get to cross three Foster cards off of my ‘Needs’ list with this post.  Very, very cool!!!

🙂