Daily Archives: June 13, 2012

Cal Ripken Jr. 2011 Topps Gypsy Queen

Cal Ripken Jr. 2011 Topps Gypsy Queen

I don’t actively collect baseball cards of Cal Ripken.  It is not that I don’t want to collect Cal, I just know that the prospect of doing something of that magnitude would require an amount of focus and finance that I am just not ready to commit to just yet.

But, I do want to.  Really, really, want to…

So, I scoop up cards as I can. 

And my latest score of Cal comes from the 2011 Topps Gypsy Queen baseball card set.

Have a look:

NICE!!!

Johnny Bench 1981 Fleer

Johnny Bench 1981 Fleer

This is Johnny Bench’s card from the debut Fleer set of 1981.

And while the card is far from ‘beautiful’, I have to say that there are many more cards in this same Fleer set that are not as appealing.

Something tells me that Bench held this same pose as an 8-year old Little Leaguer in Oklahoma….  🙂

Brooks Robinson 2003 Topps Gallery

Brooks Robinson 2003 Topps Gallery

Anytime you can have a baseball card that shows off Brooks Robinson and his incredible ability to defend his position is a plus in this collector’s eyes.

So, it is pretty cool to be seeing him here getting one of his many Gold Glove awards!!!

Happy Anniversary Roger Clemens!!!

Happy Anniversary Roger Clemens!!!

On this day in 2003, Roger Clemens recorded the 300th win of his major league baseball career.

At home and hosting the St. Louis Cardinals as part of baseball’s inter-league play, Clemens took the hill for the New York Yankees in hopes of picking up win #300 in front of his home crowd.  And 55,000+ fans witnessed baseball history!!

In the contest, Clemens went 6 2/3 inning and picked up the win.  While on the mound, he allowed 6 hits and 2 runs while striking out 10 and walking just 2 batters.  Vintage Clemens was on display and this win put him in another class of ‘elite pitching greats’.

Congratulations ‘Rocket’!!!

‘Uncle Moe’ Sends Over A Marlins-Themed Stack Of Baseball Cards

‘Uncle Moe’ Sends Over A Marlins-Themed Stack Of Baseball Cards

I believe that ‘Uncle Moe’ and I have a unwitten rule.  He gets my Diamondbacks and I get his Marlins – it is that simple.

I am certain that there are other relationships out there is the card-blogging arena that exist as well.  Heck, I have a few other myself.

But none has been as long-standing as the one I have with the man that they call ‘Moe’.

This time around, he hit me with a bit of a surprise too.  Sure, there were plenty of Marlins to enjoy, but he also sent over a pair of cards that feature a certain Hall of Famer that I really like as well.

So, enough of the chit-chat, let’s see the spoils!!!

Pair of Dennis Eckersley 2012 Topps inserts:

Josh Johnson 2011 Topps Diamond Stars:

Anibal Sanchez 2012 Topps Archives – a perfect complement to the Hanley, Reyes, Heath Bell, and Josh Johnson cards that I already owned:

4 cards from the 2012 Topps – 1 from series 1, and 3 from series 2:

Carlos Zambrano 2012 Topps Series 2 – Red Border:

Hanley Ramirez 2012 Topps Gypsy Queen – Gold Border:

Jose Reyes 2012 Topps Gypsy Queen ‘Sliding Stars’:

Some pretty sweet stuff in there, huh??

Yeah, I am really digging these cards.

Of the lot, my favorite is the Jose Reyes card. While a obviuos air-brush job (Reyes cut his hair prior to suiting up for the Fish), I like the theme of the subset.  The ‘Eck’ Mound Dominance card is pretty fantastic as well!!!

Thank you Moe!  And if you’re reading this, take a few minutes to see what he is doing on his blog, it is a great, and fun, read.  Click here.

🙂