An Open Challenge To ALL Bloggers!!!

An Open Challenge To ALL Bloggers!!!

A very fun and interesting conversation broke out during lunch while at work the other day.  In fact, it continued throughout the remainder of the afternoon through emails, text messages, and phone calls.

Simply stated, the question was asked, “What is the greatest sporting event that you have watched?”  Not necessarily live, but the one that has permanently impacted you so much that you can vividly recall specifics about where you watched it, who you were with, and your emotional state as the story unfolded before your eyes.

Since this was a very general question, the stories ranged from the Tyson/Douglas fight to Michael Jordan’s shot to win his 6th NBA title to Mark McGwire hitting home run #62 and so on….  And the stories were funny and filled with emotion.

And of course I shared some of my favorites too.

And then I started thinking about this blog.  And baseball.  And the great bloggers that I have met.  And what their favorite moments in baseball may be.

And that all led me to this – “An Open Challenge To ALL Bloggers!!!”

Share your stories.  If you had to select the Top 10 baseball stories/moments that defined the sport for you as a fan what would the be?  Did they occur during your youth or just last season?  And since the Internet is a visual media, try to find an image of that moment that captures that event how you recall it.  Sources like Ebay, Flickr, and other web-based image hosting sites should make this task not too difficult to accomplish.

What I am proposing is that we all take some time, a week sounds good, to filter through our memory banks to find our ‘Top 10 Baseball memories’ and let’s all publish them next Sunday.  Stories, images, memories – let’s share.  And if you want to try to rank them, go for it.  If not, that is fine too.

And once you’ve posted your story on your blog send me a link.  I’ll offer up a directory of sorts at “30-YOC” to have 1 central place to visit to find other bloggers and their Top 10 lists.

Are you up for the challenge?  I know that I am.  And it will be just as fun, if not more fun, to see what others selected for their lists too.

What are you waiting for?  Get going and start digging through your years and years of baseball memories to filter down to your Top 10 moments.

In an effort to build this into a nice group of blogger participation, I would appreciate it if anyone could mention this challenge on their blogs as well to help spread the word.

Thanks.  See you next Sunday!!!

14 responses to “An Open Challenge To ALL Bloggers!!!

  1. Count me in…a great idea.!!!!

  2. Sounds like fun. I’m in.

  3. Sounds like a good idea.

  4. Great idea. My list will appear on Sunday June 6 at http://www.JohngysBeat.blogspot.com

  5. My list can be found at the link to my blog. I had a great time doing this, thanks for bringing back some great memories, I could probably have done a top 20 easily.

  6. Here are my top 2. I don’t think I could come up with 10, if I had month to think.

    http://emeraldcitydiamondgems.blogspot.com/2010/06/greatest-game.html

  7. That was an interesting trip down memory lane. Thanks for the idea. Here! are my Top Ten.

Leave a comment